Why are you a emt?

tracyloo32

Forum Ride Along
I thought id start a new thread for all emts.

just wondering what made you decide to be an emt? how old were you when you got certified, what certification do you have? Professional or Volunteer?

my mom has been and emt for 24 years and always being around the department made me want to join and become a emt. i was 16. I am a certified EMT-B. 100%Volunteer.

Sasha

Forum Chief
I wanted to drive real fast and sleep on the clock.

fma08

Forum Asst. Chief
I wanted to drive real fast and sleep on the clock.

I'm more of a I wanna put lights and sirens in my POV :p

My real reason is because it interests me and I like to help people when I can. Sure as heck isn't for the money :p

JonTullos

Forum Captain
I want to see how many medical instruments I can fit onto a belt. I also wanted an excuse to buy an iron lung to tow behind my truck when I respond to calls with my VFD on the side.

Ok, seriously now.

My dad's been an EMT for as long as I can remember. I'm an idealist in that I say that I want to help people. That's honestly the biggest part of it but I'm also just interested in medicine. I want to learn as much as I can, grow as much as I can and go as far as I can. Next fall I'm doing Paramedic (after I take a couple of other prep classes - A&P and the like) and then who knows. I really do like interacting with people and helping them as best as I can.

medic417

The Truth Provider
I wonder how many times this question has been posted here?

VentMedic

Forum Chief
It was as easy job to get right out of high school that didn't require an education and came with a cool uniform.

HotelCo

Forum Deputy Chief
I want to have an alphabet soup at the end of my name. I figured this was a good place to start. When it's all said and done I want my business card to have my name listed as something like this:
HotelCo DO, MD, DC, DDS, DMD, PharmD, DVM, DSW, PsyD CCRN, RN, BSN, BS, BA, AA, CCEMT-P, EMT-P, EMT-I, EMT-B.