SNF Post fall

NJEMT12

Forum Ride Along
Hi everyone I am brand new to the forms and am looking for a bit of help. I have been a practicing EMT in NJ for 2 years now working both career and volunteer. I have noticed many people do things VERY different than others and that has brought me to my question for you guys...

You are dispatched to a SNF for post fall. Upon arrival 78 y/o female seated in a wheelchair. Facility aid relates witnessed fall >30 minutes ago.

History: Dementia, HTN.
Vitals: Baseline
Mental Status: Confused yet pt. baseline

Pt. denies LOC and relates no pain besides small skin tear on (L) arm.
Upon examination no bleeding, no bruising, no swelling.

The facilities policy is EVERY fall victim be taken to ED.

Do you board and collar this Pt? The patient was obviously already moved by facility staff. What do you do?

Clare

Forum Asst. Chief
I am not sure what you mean by SNF? Like a rest home? For a patient with a simple mechanical fall with no evidence of cervical spine injury then no, no collar is required.

Although elderly patients may have a greater risk of injury from falls, be it from natural ageing or a pre-existing condition such as osteoperosis, this does not automatically mean they are treated any differently.

I've picked up plenty of oldies, dusted them off and sat them back in their chair or infront of the telly and let them carry on watching the soapies and none of them were any worse for wear for it.

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
No board. No collar.

In my case, probably a BLS transport, if at all.

And Clare, in the states, an SNF is a "skilled nursing facility". A rest home.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Same as above. No board and no collar.

OP
OP
N

NJEMT12

Forum Ride Along
Thank you for the advise. Is there any specific way you would document not taking spinal precautions?

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.