Trauma, choosing the right transport destination.

So is the 10 mins worth it? Which hospital is best for the patient?

• Level III Trauma with Neurosurgeons 45 miles away.

Votes: 7 100.0%
  • Level III Trauma without Neurosurgeons 35 miles away.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

LanceCorpsman

Forum Lieutenant
Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to the EMS scene, just got my AEMT and now working on my EMT-I in the state of Oregon.
I wanted to get some opinions on deciding which hospital to transport to, my agency is located in rural Oregon. The city I live in has a Level III Trauma center without a neurosurgeon, so every neurological or complex trauma cases we fly out of town. My district covers a large portion of a highway that connects to a town that has another Level III facility with neurosurgeons on staff.
I typically get quite of few MVCs on a specific portion of the highway about 35 miles from the hospital that is in my city. 35 miles from our trauma center, would make the other facility about 45 minutes away at a lower altitude ( I mention this because during the winter, it might be faster to drive to the further one).
The question I have is that if I'm 45 miles away from the hospital with nuero capabilities, would it make sense to transport to that facility even if it takes 10 mins longer? This is of course after seeing if the air ambulance is available or not.

I had an incident when an air ambulance picked up a pt with neurological trauma, transported to the closest hospital, then 45 mins later going over our head again to transport to the facility with neuro capabilities.

Keep in mind, I am at an all volunteer agency with NO medics, just one other Intermediate.

RedAirplane

Forum Asst. Chief
I'm a rookie here and don't usually engage in transport of patients, but if I were in this situation, here are my thoughts:

1. Time permitting, call medical control if there is a doubt.