Should EMS Receive Discounted Airline Tickets?

Operations Guy

Supreme Overlord
Nope no need to. Airlines actually have full emergency kits and there own medical control that crews can call to talk them through an emergency and what to do. Also just because Carrie Fisher had a heart attack it shouldn't effect how airlines operate. There are regular people who have heart attacks on planes and no one cares but just because a person who is famous and used alot of cocaine has one it should force a operational shift?

LanceCorpsman

Forum Lieutenant
I wonder if they would bump us up to first class if we are in our uniform? Just so everybody knows I'm an EMT.

StCEMT

Forum Deputy Chief
Nope. I mean I appreciate discounts (shoutout to my one true love, chik fil a) and I do go to those places more when at work because hey, college sucks and it aint cheap. However, I by no means expect it, don't care when they don't give me one, nor do I think it needs to be the norm. It's a job. Sure, it allows me to help people and I appreciate the little goody bags, but at the end of the day its just how I enjoy paying my bills. I love what I do for many other reasons than the discounts. If they want to offer it, great, if not, that's cool too.

SeeNoMore

Old and Crappy
Nope no need to. Airlines actually have full emergency kits and there own medical control that crews can call to talk them through an emergency and what to do. Also just because Carrie Fisher had a heart attack it shouldn't effect how airlines operate. There are regular people who have heart attacks on planes and no one cares but just because a person who is famous and used alot of cocaine has one it should force a operational shift?

This seems kind of judgemental to me. Plenty of folks engage in activities that increase their risk of illness. I would also imagine that people do indeed care when regular people have heart attacks on planes.