Adam Wallace

Forum Ride Along
Hi All,

My name is Adam Wallace and I am a Final Year Undergraduate Product Design Student at Loughborough University.

I am hoping if you might be able to provide some information and feedback to a medical product I am designing at University.

The 9 month project is aimed at supporting paramedics in diagnosing what is wrong with a casualty at the scene of an emergency. I have been advised that current products are bulky and awkward to use in the field. They also only provide a snapshot of information about a casualty, when it would be beneficial to have an understanding of the bigger picture.

I am thinking of designing a 24 hour heart beat monitor device that would have two or three sensors to ensure the reading is across the heart.
- I would like to gain a better understanding of who would this device usually be aimed at?
- What would be the best way for the paramedic to interact with it and read the device whilst in the field?
- What are the needs and desires of a paramedic when taking a heart beat reading? (What do you want to be able to do and how?)
- If a paramedic suspects the problem to be heart or blood related (Heart Rate, Blood Pressure, Glucose Levels etc) what process do they carry out when testing for these?
- Is there a diagnosis reporting procedure that must be followed when a paramedic has treated a casualty?

If at all possible I would really value any thoughts or feedback that you may have on the subject.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Adam Wallace

RedAirplane

Forum Asst. Chief
I don't understand what you mean by "24 hour" monitor. To the best of my knowledge, few, if any, paramedics are with patients for that long.

With a few exceptions, paramedics work in stabilization and transport, so I seem to be missing the intent of your product.

OP
OP
A

Adam Wallace

Forum Ride Along