Lazy EMT'S

CobraIV

Forum Crew Member
I work in an ER and about 98% of the nurses hate basics. When a radio patch comes in for a medical patient the nurses always question why BLS? In any event I bring up a scenario that happen while I was working in the ER.

911 call for 34 year old female with chest pain. Patient states pain on left side, in her chest, pain shoots down left arm. Patient has no allergies, no meds besides over the counter sleepaids and no cardiac history. Patient had some discomfort before going to bed. Patient woke up to more pain and called 911. Patient is warm pink and dry. Blood pressure is 132/90. Pulse is 112 and her respirations are 20......

Patient arrives to ER, the patient was able to give her full name and social security number. Patient was loaded off strecher to bed.

Now, the nurses had a problem with this picture. Besides it being late in the shift 4:40am, the crew had not placed oxygen on the patient nor was any asprin given. Now as an EMT myself I felt this was a good question since the chief complaint was chest pain. I was taught o2 was like chicken noodle soup when you had a cold(obviously not all patients are the same I know this) I don't know if it was lazyness by the crew since it was early in the morning or bad judgement. This patient wasn't a "frequent flyer". The crew left as fast as they came. The patients ekg came back normal sinus rhythm. Iv fluids were started. Her blood pressure went up and another ekg was preformed revealing a stemi. The patient was ALS to a cath lab. I don't know what the end result was.

My experiences are diffrent from one and others just curious to some other ones insight.

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
Did the PT have an IV? Did the patient get any nitro from the medics? Did the medics do a 12 lead? What was the PTs Spo2 on ambient air?

Sorry. Strike all of that. I misunderstood. I thought the PT was turfed by medic to BLS.

Last edited by a moderator:

rmabrey

Forum Asst. Chief