EMT-B says "I'm a medic"

Status
Not open for further replies.

bstone

Forum Deputy Chief
Over the weekend I was at a friend's house having lunch. She invited some other folks over and we were chatting. One of them seemed to have an interest in medicine and I asked what his backround was. He said, "I've been a medic since 2006." This naturally perked my interest so I asked what he meant. He said "I've worked or volunteered on an ambulance as a medic since 2006. I provide emergency care to the sick and injured." I asked if he was an emt (not E.M.T. but emt, like in empty). He said, "Oh, yes I am an EMT." I then asked if he was a highly advanced one and he said, "Well, there are several levels and I am what's called an EMT-B."

I continued to play stupid. This was getting fun.

I asked what sort of things he did. He said "Oh, things like IVs, medications, backboards and collars for the spine, splinting for broken bones." I asked him how many IVs he started and he said, "Many many." I then asked him about the higher level of emts and he said, "There are also paramedics, called EMT-P. They do the cool stuff like IVs and sticking tubes in people throats." I asked him why he mentioned IVs for each and he admitted that he wasn't supposed to start IVs but because the medics ordered him to it was "ok". This fellow, mind you, works as an EMT-B in New Jersey. To the best of my knowledge there is no system in NJ that allows Basics to start IVs.

I then said, "When I taught Basic School I told my students they were never to start an IV, even if a medic ordered them do. A medic works under standing medical orders and he cannot delegate those to someone of a lower certification/license level."

The guy turned an interesting shade of white.

"I'm a National Registered EMT Intermediate of the 1985 standard" I said.