Can an EMT B become an ER tech?

CardiacJunkie23

Forum Ride Along
l

I am an EMT Basic and I am getting tired of the late nights. Can an Emt b become an ER tech??

aandjmayne

Forum Crew Member
I am not sure about your area. But in Louisiana you can. If you go to the hospitals website and look up the qualifications/job description for an ER Tech it will tell you. In Baton Rouge, the minimum is CNA or EMT-B cert. required to work as an ER Tech. That's not to say that you wont have to work nights though. Remember just like in EMS, ERs are 24-hour facilities too. In Baton Rouge each ER shift is 12 hours.

Last edited by a moderator:

JPINFV

Gadfly
You could always try looking at hospital websites. There're generally a section called "careers" where the hospital lists their open positions. Generally a search for something like "emergency" will list all of the emergency department jobs, which could include openings for ER techs.

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief
Our ER requires either an EMT-B, CNA or current enrollment in nursing school.

emt83

Forum Probie
Why not?

I have been out of EMT school since May 2008, and I work at a hospital here in TX as a businness associate. I have failed my EMT Nat Cert 2 and have one more chance before a 24 hr remedial is needed. I have talk to the hospital and they said if I could get my Cert I can pull some Overtime as ER Tech. So just ask around and get to know your hospitals around you!! I am definitely back studying hard and will pass!!

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief
So what makes you think the hours will improve with ERT. The new ones work the late shifts here.

Code 3

Forum Captain
So what makes you think the hours will improve with ERT. The new ones work the late shifts here.