sunglasses

alright35

Forum Probie
ok, this may be a stupid question, but i am a new EMT, currently going to medic school. so i was curious if anybody has any recommendations on sunglasses. something good, stays on the face, all that good stuff.

Akulahawk

EMT-P/ED RN
Community Leader
I currently wear Oakley M frames... one in clear, one in polarized gray. They work great, but they're just a weeee bit expensive. I also like the Smith & Wesson glasses. They're much cheaper, and stay on my head just about as well...

My vote is for the S&W Safety glasses...

flhtci01

Forum Captain
I currently wear Wiley-X Romer II. Can change out the lenses in about 30 seconds from grey to amber or clear.

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
People go through sunglasses like pen lights. I'd stick with the cheap ones.

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
I bought five pairs at Salvation Army for $2 each.

I drove professionally (ambulance, small rescue truck) for three years.
Try on the glasses. M ake sure they work with any glasses you wear for vision. Check for distortion. Get something with UV protection. I suggest an orange (not red) amber lens to preserve night vision and cut haze.
Don't spend more than $10 for a pair, and save your busted ones for parts.

emt_angel25

Forum Lieutenant
wal-mart or target sunglasses.......LOL thats what i got. and i love them ;)

lightsandsirens5

Forum Deputy Chief
I agree with Miz, mycrofft, and angel. Buy the cheap ones, that way when your partner sits on them you are only out, what 10 bucks at the most? Less if you are smart. OK, maybe they don't look quite a cool as NEPAs, but oh well.:p

Barney_Fife

Forum Crew Member
I wear ones that are not only SPF protection, but also safety glasses. So, dual purpose, with a stylish look. Not too expensive, and wearable all the time.

EMTinNEPA

Guess who's back...