"Stay and play?"

RedAirplane

Forum Asst. Chief
Some topics in other discussions reminded me of this.

When I did my ride along with the ALS 911 provider, most of our calls would follow the same general format: fire is on scene, we get the patient from them, load into the ambulance, spend 15-20 minutes doing an assessment in the ambulance, then drive non-emergent to the hospital.

Is there a reason for that? I realize that those patients weren't emergencies, but it feels like a little bit of a waste to be sitting in an ambulance on a street corner doing a blood pressure and IV access.

My instinct would be to say assess what you need to on scene, and then ongoing assessment enroute.

Is there something I'm missing?

SandpitMedic

Crowd pleaser
There is more than one way to eat a Reese's.

Akulahawk

EMT-P/ED RN
Community Leader
Disclosure: I'm an ER nurse, but I was a working Paramedic once upon a time...