Pa - Physician Assistant

EMT2PAC

Forum Crew Member
Are there other EMTs here who have become or are becoming PAs? PA is Physician Assistant and are licensed, quasi-autonomous medical professionals. I have been an EMT for a few years and am applying to PA school now. Have any former EMTs who became PAs continued to be involved in EMS?

ca11metdub

Forum Ride Along
In the end, I want to be a PA.
I was a chemist for awhile then realized I wanted to pursue medicine. I did get interviewed the first year I applied but not having patient care experience really didn't make me a competitive applicant. So I volunteered for a year at a hospital while taking the EMT course.
I just recently passed the NREMT so I hope I can work in the ER room and meet some fellow PA's there that can teach me, and maybe even let me shadow. I've shadowed here and there, but will have to look for someone more reliable now. So in the meantime I'm studying for the GRE, applying for jobs, and most likely will do some volunteering at ARC.

OP
OP
E

EMT2PAC

Forum Crew Member
That's cool. I worked for about two years on the ambulance. I hope I have enough clinical hours!

VFlutter

Flight Nurse
I would advise talking to the admissions department at the school because I know a lot of places do not consider volunteering as patient care experience.