My gf is having our baby, should I deliver?

bulletprooftiger

Forum Ride Along
I'm an emt b and my girl friend is going to have our daughter any day now should I help assist our OB with delivery (she said she would let me.) but I'm fresh in the feild and kinda green, should I take this as a learning experiance or will I never look at my girlfriend the same?

tiffany9902

Forum Crew Member
i dont think you would look at her the same again... but lets you know how it goes if/when you do lol

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
If i ever get married and have kids, I'm paying for a c-section.

Ever seen a delivery?

systemet

Forum Asst. Chief
I'm an emt b and my girl friend is going to have our daughter any day now should I help assist our OB with delivery (she said she would let me.) but I'm fresh in the feild and kinda green, should I take this as a learning experiance or will I never look at my girlfriend the same?

I wouldn't / didn't. And as it turns out wouldn't have been able to, as my daughter required a vacuum extraction, and was a nucchal cord, and was flat. It was tough enough that the mid-wives (which here are RNs with graduate training), passed the case over to an obstetrician, which is a relatively infrequent event.

I realised my role was to be there for my wife. She didn't need me distracted, trying to do something else. There were plenty of other people who were better trained. I was just going to be in the way.

I'm not saying don't ask questions, or have an interest in what's happening, but your girlfriend is going to need a lot of support. Good luck!

Melclin

Forum Deputy Chief
HOLY GOD NO.

Mate, watch a delivery on you tube and get back to us. Its a massacre down there. You don't ever wanna see you're missus' play ground depicted in that light. Honestly, from one bloke to another. Don't do it.

Aside from the gross factor, I imagine bother her you looking at her in a clinical way. You're there for emotional support, I'd stick with that.