Medics leave it to the Basics

micsaver

Forum Crew Member
Just a general question to clear up my mild confusion....

If you're on an all Basic truck and call for a Medics assistance, when they arrive is it ok for them to decide that the Basic should be able to handle the call without the Medic and leave?

I have not actually seen this happen or been in this situation (I'm a total newbe) but it has been expressed to me that a Medic might do just that.

I also thought that on a Basic / Medic truck that the medic has to tech all the calls (I guess if its a routine transport that might not be the case).

Did i get my wires crossed somewhere or is the ball being dropped some how?
Is this one of the "it depends" kind of issues?

ResTech

Forum Asst. Chief
Each State will differ with how the whole ALS/BLS interface works but Ill give it to ya from the Pennsylvania perspective...

I've been on the ambulance driving when my partner felt they needed ALS or just forgot to cancel them and ALS arrived and asked my partner if he/she needed them.... if they said no, then ALS left.... once ALS makes pt. contact they are stuck with care unless they call Medical Command to get a refusal. So ALS kinda stands back until the EMT states if they need ALS or not on patients that are seemingly obvious to ALS that they are not needed.

But regardless, if the EMT says I want ALS, they have to ride along. The EMT has to agree with not having ALS.

medic417

The Truth Provider
Unless an advanced skill is established patient care can be downgraded to basic level.

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
Happens all the time here.

Just write "Medic Eval" in your SOAP. Document everything.

rescue99

Forum Deputy Chief