Looking for some advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

EMTCop86

Forum Captain
I’m a new EMT-B who wants to be a paramedic. I would like to start paramedic school next year but I’ve been getting a lot of mixed reviews. Most tell me that I’m to new to the field and that I should get more experience first. I’ve had equal amounts of people tell me that this would be a good time in my life to do it. Since I don’t have anything tying me down. Do you recommend that I wait or get started with the school? Can anyone recommend schools in the Boston area?

IMHO if you want to be a good paramedic you must first be a good EMT. If you don't get experience as an EMT how will you know if your good at it or not...

AJ Hidell

Forum Deputy Chief
IMHO if you want to be a good paramedic you must first be a good EMT. If you don't get experience as an EMT how will you know if your good at it or not...
No offense, but having completed neither EMT nor paramedic training, or achieved any experience as either, what do you base your humble opinion on? A wild guess? What you heard from others who aren't yet paramedics either?

I'm sure you also believe that someone should be a good security guard for a few years before becoming a police officer, right?

Last edited by a moderator:

Sasha

Forum Chief
A wild guess?

My guess is preceptors or instructors who waited for Medic school and are preaching to her that you should wait.