I Think I'm Giving Up On My EMS Goals ( Kern County )

SocraticMethod

Forum Probie
Succinctly, I'm a new emt as of early 2015. I live in Kern County, our dominant provider is HALL. I interviewed twice there, and didn't get hired. Furthermore, I've interviewed in surrounding counties, but no one wants to take a commuter for 12 hour shifts. It's amazing that Hall hires plenty of people who never plan to remain in EMS, let alone pursue licensure as a Paramedic. I just don't get it. Considering my objective features, 3 years into my BS in chemistry, articulate, fit, and inherently communicative, confident I just don't understand. I also have plenty of work experience. EMT positions are entry level, the practical skills and knowledge can be imparted on a teenager, and yet despite recommendations and assurances from EMS instructors, even my BLS teacher aggressively encouraged me to re apply. Either they have it as a matter of policy that they can't discuss, provide feedback post interview or they just don't care, because I'm at a loss. I'm sorry, but I need to decompress and vent a little. I even took almost a year off of school to maintain an open schedule beieving gettimg hired to be a sure thing. It's ridiculous that I have to abandon these modest goals, I wanted to enter into EMS because I strongly desire to. I have the grades to enter into post grad programs, or could even breeze my way through nursing school ( my friend makes 35 hr as a staff nurse with null experience, 3 times that of a Paramedic here ), or I can enter into the mundane realm of analysis and make 20 hourly doing that even though it would crush my soul. I just resent that I can't even bother to receive any insights from HR despite my formal, and polite requests. Alternatively, there's Delano Ambulance, the guys there are awesome, but they only run a few ambulances and getting hired seems improbable. I'm pretty bummed, I think I just have to accept and move on. Thanks for reading if you made it this