I had no Idea

SkyAce

Forum Probie
Im sure you folks get this a lot and I'm not going to wine about it. But I had no idea how much work it is and studying it is to become and EMT. I really do love the class I'm taking and enjoy reading about what I hope to be my job in the near future. The good news is I really got a lot a prep from all of the posts on here. Just reading through the stories and looking at the replys in the BLS has really helped me so far. So I really just want to say Thanks!

apagea99

Forum Lieutenant
Welcome to the chaotic life of studying to become an EMT! :) I was expecting to study a lot as well, but I'm studying even more than I thought I would. The thing is, I'm loving it! I'd study all day every day if given the chance. Keep up the study habits and we'll make it to the other side B)

LucidResq

Forum Deputy Chief
Actually it takes very little studying and work to become an EMT-B. A minimum of 110 hours or so (depending on your state) of relatively low difficulty coursework... and then you have this title of an emergency medical care provider...

I'm not trying to be an *** or anything here. If you're taking the course seriously and studying above and beyond the bare minimum then good for you and keep it up.

PS: I also understand that many EMT-B students juggle jobs and family while in school, which is undoubtedly challenging. So please don't think I'm downplaying that aspect.

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
S

SkyAce

Forum Probie
Reply to above

Well maybe I'm just slow becasue I think the course is pretty tough. I read through the chapters I'm getting a good grade. I just think its a lot of material to go over. But thanks for your feedback:excl:

HeavyCrow

Forum Crew Member