how to get/stay in shape

amg1322

Forum Crew Member
i just finished my emt training and will hopefully be starting the academy in a few months. i am not in horrible shape. but i definitely want to get in kick *** shape. what does everyone do to get in good shape or keep in good shape.. do you have a regular gym workout? do you go to crossfit? or boxing? i'm just looking for something that everyone recommends will help with overall shape and help me through training... help please! :glare:

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
Running, cycling, and crossfit. I despise weights. Lol :p

NYMedic828

Forum Deputy Chief
Just a heads up, this is more for educational and job related training. We have a "health and fitness" section.

Anyway, if you are serious about getting in shape I cannot stress becoming a forum member over at bodybuilding.com over anything. I've been bodybuilding for 5 years now on and off and it makes me feel great. I went from a scrawny 138 to my current 180.

Second thing, obviously you need to join a gym. I personally recommend weight lifting with cardio integrated. Cardio is important for your overall health but you will better do your job if you have some muscle behind you. Lifting weights does burn substantial calories even while you rest. (Healing)

The BIGGEST thing for your training and overall health, diet diet diet. A favorite saying of mine is "abs are made in the kitchen." You won't get anywhere on the stereotype EMS diet.

Thricenotrice

Forum Lieutenant
Bodybuilding.com seconded. Really good info if you know how to weed out the bad.

Used to be addicted to those forums

NYMedic828

Forum Deputy Chief
Bodybuilding.com seconded. Really good info if you know how to weed out the bad.

Used to be addicted to those forums

Just stay away from "the misc" section and you'll be fine...

OP
OP
A

amg1322

Forum Crew Member
Just a heads up, this is more for educational and job related training. We have a "health and fitness" section.