EMT Certification Questions!

Em K

Forum Ride Along
Hello! I am an undergrad student who took the EMT course last spring (spring of 2014). Due to family and personal reasons, I was only able to take the Cognitive Exam (through the National Registry) last month, August.

I was aware that I had to take the Cognitive Exam within 2 years of course completion, and those 2 years will be over May 2015.

Because I took the Cognitive Exam last month (and fortunately, I passed), my skills assessment expired. I was told that I can retake the skills assessment to be officially certified, and I would have to do that until May 2015. I recently contacted my former instructor for advice and I got nothing but condemnation.

So my question is, since I took the Cognitive Exam last month, will it still be valid even after my 2 years are over?
Can I retake the entire course this upcoming spring even when my 2 years have not expired yet?
If I can retake the course this Spring, will my Cognitive Exam still be valid? Or will everything reset and would I have to retake the Cognitive exam?

I'm hoping to resolve this issue as smoothly as possible due to financial issues. Any help, advice, comment would be appreciated!
Thank you!

RedAirplane

Forum Asst. Chief
I would call the NREMT people and ask about your specific situation. I tried to make sense of the website but got very confused. Maybe someone on here is very familiar with the policies and procedures?

EBMEMT

Forum Crew Member
I suspect you mean May 2016, since may 2015 is long past.

So my question is, since I took the Cognitive Exam last month, will it still be valid even after my 2 years are over?
My Guess: No. If you fail to complete both exams within 24 months of completing the class, you must start over from scratch.