Denver Health EMS

Will980

Forum Probie
I would like to get as much information as I can on what it’s like to work for Denver EMS as a paramedic.
There website has a wide range as far as pay, does anyone know if they pay for experience?
What kind of EPCR system do they use?
How is their equipment?
What type of trucks Cardiac monitors? etc.
Do they do transfers as well as 911 calls?
What is there hiring process like?

I would appreciate any information that can be provided, I am considering moving to the area. I have over 10 years of experience as a paramedic and looking for a change of scenery. I have looked at the threads on here but it seems like the information that I am looking for is a couple of years old at least so I would like to get some updated information.

Thank you

Tigger

Dodges Pucks
Community Leader
I'm no expert but we have some part timers that have worked at DG in the past. They do pay more starting for experience but I can't remember exact numbers. They've got a pretty new fleet of E350/LifeLine Type IIIs. Complete with an "X" screen printed onto the bench so you can direct your walking patients on where to sit, lest they sit on the cot. For what ever reason that's a big thing in Denver, if you can walk to and from the ambulance, you will. They will not go away from the super light old school Ferno Cots I have noticed. I think they use LP12s as well. No idea what their ePCR system is but of note, they run pretty much exclusively double medic and you alternate shifts between driving and riding.

They have a CCT ambulance but I think that's it for transfers.

Not too sure about the hiring process, but they are not civil service. My understanding is that it's a pretty standard process, written test, interview, maybe a practical test?

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show