BlS Narrative Templates

62_derick

Forum Crew Member
I am new to ems world and just started a job about a month ago. I am getting confortable with talking to the patients and doing my skills. However I am still having some issues with writing out my narratives and also radio reports. I have asked some of the people that I work with and I get a different answer from each one.

When I went over our trip sheets they told me to do my narrative short and sweet, I dont really think that is a proper way of doing one. I have been on the fire side for a while and doing narratives for them so its different with the ems side.

Now my question is does anyone know if there is a template I can follow or if anyone could give me some ideas on what to write in my narrative?

Thanks

Dominion

Forum Asst. Chief
I had never heard of this when I first started, but naturally started writing my run reports this way. I use CHART, the way it was explained to me was the following:

Chief Complaint: Kind of your general impression/what the patient says is wrong, I've always written this as something like: "32 yo male(or female); c/o SOA, patient states "I just can't catch my breath" in two word bursts"

History/Event: Include any past pertinent medical history, history of the event/onset.

Assessment

Rx: Treatment, what did you do. This is anything from positioning the airway or patient, giving breathing treatments, whatever you do to try to alleviate the problem.

Transport: Where you took them, report called in? ETC

The last section I save for changes such as maybe...."After O2 and positioning the patient stated relief..blah blah blah blah".

fiddlesticks

Forum Crew Member
i hate PCRs so im not much help but for patches i write my vitals, RX and pt sex/age and CC. on a note pad then have that to keep me on track and keep it short, they put the mic down after the first 2 mins.:sad:

cm4short

Forum Lieutenant