When to end CPR?

afawver1003

Forum Ride Along
I am a college student majoring in Emergency Medical Services and in my college composition class, we have to write an argumentative regarding a contraversial issue in our field of study. My thesis for this paper is "EMS personelle should be allowed to cease CPR depending on situation circumstances." These circumstances being terminally ill patients, when a DNR is not present, if you know the pt isn't going to make it anyway ect. What are some other thoughts..opinions...views? Thanks!

Medic Tim

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
There are many areas where paramedics can call it without calling olmc for various situations. Are you looking for EMT , medic or both?

I take it in your area EMS cannot do this?

NYMedic828

Forum Deputy Chief
Every patient is different.

You need to evaluate their age, cause of arrest and preexisting conditions to deem them viable or worthy of terminating efforts.

Trauma dont even bother if you don't have to...

VFlutter

Flight Nurse
As much as I would like to say that medics should be allowed to cease resuscitation on futile terminally ill patients I do not think it is a realistic option. Are you suggesting this based off family wishes or paramedic discretion? What criteria would you use? Who decides it is futile? Would it require contacting medical control?

In my opinion, anything besides obvious death and traumatic arrests will lead to more trouble that it is worth. Best option is continue BLS only to the nearest hospital and let them call it on arrival

Last edited by a moderator:

9D4

Forum Asst. Chief
I agree with chase. It'd be pretty difficult to tell if someone has a terminal condition. As it is, I've heard of "DNR" tattoos and EMS is required to ignore those unless proper papers are present. I can see the tat's being acceptable practice.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief