When and When not to start IVs/saline Locks.

xrsm002

Forum Captain
I was wondering I had two abdominal pain calls on the truck we started an IV on the first one but the 2nd one we didn't start one. I am a paramedic student and my preceptor told me the 2nd patient didn't need one. I am assuming because it was a <6 min transport time to the ER. The first one was about 15 min transport. Or it could be cuz the first one was bent over, and the 2nd one wasn't. Any suggestions on when and when not to start lines? or at least a saline lock?

Epi-do

I see dead people
I start IV's if I need to give IV meds, fluids, or have a patient that has the potential to head south and need either of those things while on our way to the ED. When I do start an IV, I almost always do a lock. I only hang a bag if fluids are needed.

I work with a handful of medics that will start an IV on a pt simply because "the hospital is going to do it when we get there, anyway." It's not something I do, but that comes down to personal preference, I guess.

If you are looking for specific signs/symptoms that will cause me to start an IV, it really varies widely from patient to patient, depending upon their complaint.

NYMedic828

Forum Deputy Chief
I start IV's if I need to give IV meds, fluids, or have a patient that has the potential to head south and need either of those things while on our way to the ED. When I do start an IV, I almost always do a lock. I only hang a bag if fluids are needed.

I work with a handful of medics that will start an IV on a pt simply because "the hospital is going to do it when we get there, anyway." It's not something I do, but that comes down to personal preference, I guess.

+1

There are tons of people who will start an IV on everyone they can and use the "what if scenario" in their defense.

If the patient could potentially head south or is already down under then they get an IV.

Next time, ask the preceptor for a clear reason why.

STXmedic

Forum Burnout