TheScientist

Forum Probie
Dear Users,

I am currently a PhD student researching trauma and PTSD in paramedics, and ways in which we can use prior psychological training to help reduce this beforehand rather than trying to catch up afterwards with traditional therapy. The title of the study is “Self-taught cognitive resilience in paramedic workers: Is prevention as effective as treatment for trauma-related disorders?”

The prior psychological training aims to be cost-effective and time-flexible in order to fit in with the schedules and work demands of paramedics. A prototype of this may be available for forum users here to test.

My intention is to read participant’s posts in this forum, especially in the Mental Health section, in order to gain more first-hand experience of the area. Prior research suggests that the work stress and experience of traumatic events can lead to occupational trauma and secondary mental illness in paramedics. As part of the research I hope to obtain more information on this.