NEW EMT-B confused

eprieto

Forum Probie
I'm a new Emt and am wondering if i shud begin send applications right away or if i shud try to build up my resume with volunteer work? and what kind of volunteer work would benefit me the most? im in the bay area and need advice.

EMSrush

Forum Captain
Why not start doing both? It might be a good idea to gain some experience volunteering while waiting for someone to give you a call on an application. I'm not familiar with the Bay area, but it's always a good idea to research the reputation of any organization that you are considering volunteering your time with, to ensure that your volly time looks good on your application, as opposed to scaring potential employers away.

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
and what kind of volunteer work would benefit me the most?

Literacy programs?? Teaching adults to read would be a start only because my experience as an instructor has shown me that every time I teach, I learn something new...

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
Literacy program??

Yes, when you teach people to read properly, you can not help but pick up proper spelling, grammar and better overall communication skills.

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
In a nutshell, it means if you wish to be perceived as a professional, one should make an effort to spell correctly, at least when posting in an online forum.

I'm certainly not a grammar/spelling Nazi, but you've got to draw the line somewhere.

GirevikMedic

Forum Crew Member
It may not be important to the information asked but I believe the point being made its that proper spelling and grammar are important factors to be considered - especially if the OP's resume shows similar spelling and grammar. Afterall, written communication/documentation is just as important to our field as interpersonal interaction and verbal skills.