Malpractice forums

CANMAN

Forum Asst. Chief
I like to check out medical malpractice forums from time to time (know your enemy) and came across this interesting thread.
http://www.expertlaw.com/forums/showthread.php?t=196648&s=8aa3eccfa1366eff4c4b1b6c43f347b5

Sticky situation for sure. I am not a legal expert but just based off that limited information if I was those EMT's or whatever level provider they actually were I would be a bit nervous and wishing I performed, or at least offered to do a full assessment on the patient unless he refused all care.

My refusals of service reports when I work FD are almost as long is not longer then a standard run report for this exact reason.

OnceAnEMT

Forum Asst. Chief
Kind of an odd forum to have, especially when it still consists of replies likes:

"Get a consult with a malpractice attorney. They will be able to give you a better idea if you have any cause of action."

At the end of the day there is only so much you can do. As mentioned, a competent adult, is, well, legally competent. You can ask your AnOx4 questions and warn of the risks including death of not going to the hospital. Here's to hoping the crew did and documented more than the OP is stating.

For fun... Is a STEMI patient who refuses treatment a danger to themselves? How does this differ from an AnOx4 patient overdosing in front of you also refusing?

CANMAN

Forum Asst. Chief
Kind of an odd forum to have, especially when it still consists of replies likes:

"Get a consult with a malpractice attorney. They will be able to give you a better idea if you have any cause of action."

At the end of the day there is only so much you can do. As mentioned, a competent adult, is, well, legally competent. You can ask your AnOx4 questions and warn of the risks including death of not going to the hospital. Here's to hoping the crew did and documented more than the OP is stating.