Is EMS an honorable profession?

paradoqs

Forum Crew Member
I think many people in healthcare believe they are doing good work but sometimes I wonder if EMS is doing good in the world, philosophically speaking. I ask because I have friends who are teachers and counselors and I wonder if I am doing good work like they are. What do you folks think? I am a Colorado emt by the way.

atropine

Forum Captain
I think that the fire service is a shame and it's only a matter of time before the public see's that, as for ems I don't think enough prevention is being done to lighten our work load and use prevention like the fire sevices used prevention and now there are not too many fires to keep that industry busy, or even justified.

abckidsmom

Dances with Patients
I think that if you approach your day with the intention of doing good for people, and then go and do that, it doesn't matter what you're doing (mostly), you're doing good in the world. The guy at my Subway is like that...he makes sandwiches and brings happiness into the world.

We in EMS can do that, but it just takes a little extra attention to make sure you are seeing everyone as individuals, and are doing what you can to make your day a better place to be.

As to whether EMS as a whole is doing a positive thing? Well, that's debatable, but it's wrapped up in the mess of healthcare, and a lot of time we, like the ERs, are left to try and fill the gaps, or deal with the people whose gaps need to be filled. It's not always exactly what should be done, nor do we always have the right answer, but I really believe that we bring a net positive into the world.

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
Make your corner a good one