Fdny ems

Fish

Forum Deputy Chief
Anyone on here work for FDNY EMS? If so I have a few questions...

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
Didn't northernmedic or something like that work there for a while?

Might be worth a PM. I haven't seen him around in a while though.

Spider2891

Forum Ride Along
I am brand new to this message board.
Yes, I work for FDNY-EMS. Ask away, I'll give you the best answers I can or find out.

emergancyjunkie

Forum Crew Member
thank you fish for starting this thread it saved me from doing it. I took my pa state emt test what do i have to do to take the test in NY

ExpatMedic0

MS, NRP
I have thought about working for FDNY EMS for years. Its why I joined the forum 7 years ago haha, to ask that same question!

I still do not have the guts to do it though, the pay on the website looks terrible for Paramedics vs the cost of living. As for EMT's, its even less.
Its been so long sense I looked into this but... is that pay chart accurate on the website or do you guys make a lot more than the listed base salary? Will FDNY EMS count any years of ALS experience prior to NYC towards your starting base wage?

Spider2891

Forum Ride Along
Junkie, a cursory Google search gave me this:
www . health. ny.gov/nysdoh/ems/certification/reciprocity.htm

I know several people that came from other states as EMT basic or better and had no problem with the reciprocity. The fact is, NYS has been dumbing down it's curriculum for some time now, the state exam and practical I took last year was a grade school effort compared to what I took in 1996.

Schulz, The pay is terrible. The conditions can run the gambit from completely unbearable to "I think I can do this for the next 25 years".
I am 99% sure that as ALS (paramedic only , NYS EMT-P) you can get bumped up in pay for experience. As for the actual pay, you need to look at someone's check and figure it out.
Here's why: