Dream Dispatcher

LucidResq

Forum Deputy Chief
Since everyone's favorite pastime is b****ing about dispatch... and I'm a dispatch newb... what does dispatch do that drives you nuts? What do you love? How much information do you want?

Think it's funny to watch the dynamics in dispatch... I saw one old-school disptacher get super-irritated with a calltaker who was adding too many notes, in her opinion, but they were putting in what I would think would be somewhat valuable information... ie: the pt overdosed on beta blockers.... of course the medics are not going to start treating a patient based on dispatch notes without an assessment but it seems to me that the more info you have walking in the better.... like what if an RP told me they've been coughing up blood and having night sweats for several days after returning from travel to Asia... wouldn't you like that information prior to coming up on them? Just thinking about some stuff.

Stephanie.

Forum Captain
Everyone works differently in everything. When in dispatch, my partner and I are like psychedelic towards each other. When I work on other shifts, other dispatchers drive me crazy. Simply because they do things differently. I am usually the type of dispatcher that gives that extra information, and I've worked with some dispatchers here that send out a full arrest with CPR in progress- and never tell the crews that CPR is in progress. I am the youngest and newest one here so I hold back from telling anyone 'how or what to do'.