Career Change

Anu

Forum Crew Member
Hi Everyone,

I am currently a 25 year old student, residing in Westchester County, New York. I've just completed an Associate's degree from community college, and am thinking of transfering to a four year school. However, I have had an interest in healthcare for quite some time now, and have been looking into paramedicine and the EMS field as a stepping stone into healthcare. Currently, I am taking an EMT-B cert course with hopes of getting certified by the end of the summer.

I've noticed that many of the people in my class are already working in or volunteering in Fire Depts. or Ambulance Services around the area. I know it's a silly question, because the answer seems so obvious, but how much does having a volunteer position increase your chances of landing a job as an EMT? And does this influence one's earning potential? Most of these guys seem really experienced, like so much of what we're learning is familiar territory. I can't help but feel slightly ignorant in comparison.

I've been advised by several people to go on and finish up a BA. I'd like to do so, but I am getting old and am afraid that if I don't seize this opportunity to become a medic then I won't ever get into healthcare. I was thinking about possibly staying at community college and completing the medic program they offer there.

I've also heard many unpleasant things about wages, salaries, and conditions, although most people who truly enjoy this line of work seem to put up with it and deal with it as best they can. I don't mean to be unrealistic or idealistic, but I am just worried about getting chained to a desk job, and miss out on a potential career in medicine. It's funny, but sometimes when I sit around the house or office I'll hear a siren in the background or see some kind of medical advertisement and feel like I'm missing out on something I can't quite name..