Can I be EMT with Epilepsy?

Joseph1991

Forum Ride Along
Hello. Unfortunatly I have Epilepsy and I am 17 years old, 18 in June, and I have been rejected from the Navy and Army because of it in an interview, which is embarrassing. They told me that I will never have a career in the Emergency Medical Services because of my Epilespy, which was kind of a hard thing to take because since I was little I always wanted to join the Navy to be in Emergency, Fire and Rescue and was always looking forward to it and now I find out I am disqualified...

I was just wondering if I can have a job such as an EMT, I am prepared, I have studied it like crazy and I am really looking forward to it.. if I am allowed.

So basically my question is can I be an EMT having Epilepsy?

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

silver

Forum Asst. Chief
Contact your state's office of EMS because its really a case by case issue.

Side questions that can help answer/decide if you are fit for EMS
Are you seizure free? if so how long? and do you have your drivers license/can you have?

Sasha

Forum Chief
I don't know of any state sanctions or laws regarding EMTs with epilepsy, but personally I don't see how it would be a good idea, especially with all those flashy lights.

imurphy

Forum Captain
I think an active seizure in the last 2 years disqualifies you from driving, and most services require you be both an EMT and a driver.

Your next stop is the DMV (or RMV depending on your state!) and your OEMS.

Good luck!

mikie

Forum Lurker
if you don't mind getting personal...

It would be more helpful to know if gave us a little background (ie- last seizure, medicated?, previous issues? etc)

OP
OP
J

Joseph1991

Forum Ride Along
It would be more helpful to know if gave us a little background (ie- last seizure, medicated?, previous issues? etc)