Burnt out? Feeling academic fatigue

mct601

RN/NRP
Been a while since Ive been here- if anyone here remembers, I started paramedic school at the National EMS Academy by Acadian Ambulance. Since then I have maintained my full time work schedule (24/48 with swapping days to be off for school), managed to make plenty of volunteer calls with the local VFD, and of course went to school. The first semester I studied pretty good, managed a 4.0. Since the beginning of this last semester, I have been reluctant to study. After being in class till 5, doing 12 hour clinicals, 24 or 48 hrs on the truck, and having to managed my schedule I just can't find the motivation. I have cracked a book twice and am still making the As (last two tests were an 88 and an 86 though). I balk at the idea of studying. I LOVE to learn and I still read pertinent information in articles and whatnot, but I just can't seem to drill information into my head. It doesn't help that I don't have much faith in this program and all of my clinical rotations and even my calls at work have all been the general illness type calls that make you lose interest. Say what you want, but we all know running granny to the hospital for two or three weeks with no true high stress call wears on you- especially at 2am when you need to be asleep for school. (I have White Cloud syndrome)

Anyways, enough of my whining. How do you guys beat academic fatigue? What are your study habits?

Anjel

Forum Angel
You have to have some down time.

I just worked 4 12's in a row and have 7 drugs to remember for tomorrow.

I hear ya on not being able to study. One thing I do is I have 2 notebooks.

One I take notes with in school. Then the night before the next class, I take all the notes and recopy them into the other notebook.

It works for me. It's amazing what you remember without actually studying.