Acceptable hair/makeup for an EMT

queenofheartz44

Forum Ride Along
I'm an EMT student right now and am curious about hair and makeup. Do I have to give it up because of what I would be doing? What looks are acceptable for this sort of work? I do like doing girly styles but wonder if I would get treated differently or not be taken seriously by male counterparts if I still "get dolled up".

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
For most areas hair has to be up off the collar in a bun. Necklaces have to either be left at home or tucked under your shirt. Natural hair colors. No hoop earrings (my many places its no earrings at all). No facial piercings. No heavy perfume. And I haven't seen any rules so far as far as make-up (I'm sure they are out there tho).

NYMedic828

Forum Deputy Chief
I'm an EMT student right now and am curious about hair and makeup. Do I have to give it up because of what I would be doing? What looks are acceptable for this sort of work? I do like doing girly styles but wonder if I would get treated differently or not be taken seriously by male counterparts if I still "get dolled up".

A good portion of EMS "professionals" are covered in tattoos and piercings.

There is no reason you can't look nice at work... I do warn you though that males often outnumber females in EMS and depending on the degree of your physical appearance you may get "hit on" more than you appreciate.

OP
OP
queenofheartz44

queenofheartz44

Forum Ride Along
A good portion of EMS "professionals" are covered in tattoos and piercings.

There is no reason you can't look nice at work... I do warn you though that males often outnumber females in EMS and depending on the degree of your physical appearance you may get "hit on" more than you appreciate.

I'm not too worried about being hit on, just afraid they won't taken me seriously because I'm "girly" or what not. That they'll judge me on my girlish appearance and think I'm prissy or something lol:blink:

NYMedic828

Forum Deputy Chief