Why was cricoid pressure stopped?

Lamiae

Forum Probie
I'm an AEMT/EMT-I student now and I am currently learning about delivering oxygen. Yesterday, we covered the usage of a bag-mask device with a reservoir. In background research, I read about the three-person bag-mask technique where one provider is performing the Sellick maniver/applying cricoid pressure. I brought it up during class, and the teacher said that it was no longer used and moved on with the lesson.

I was wondering if anyone would be able to tell me why it is no longer practiced to prevent gastric distension during artificial ventilation.

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
It's still used. Good BVM techniques can limit gastric insufflation and crich pressure can help limit it further although it's generally low on the list of priorities if I'm bagging someone.

With that said, every tube I've ever dropped has involved crich pressure/BURP to help facilitate visualization during intubation as well as keeping them from throwing up in my face.

Veneficus

Forum Chief
Rob is right,

Cricoid pressure is no longer emphasized or taught in ACLS guidelines.

It sounds like your teacher misinterpreted the intent.

Last edited by a moderator:

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
Rob is right

Not gonna lie, very tempted to make this my signature ;) Probably the only time I'll ever hear it coming from Vene :lol:

WTEngel

M.Sc., OMS-I
Premium Member
Ultimately, the decision to de-emphasize cricoid pressure as a topic was made due to the high incidence of providers performing this technique incorrectly, leading to increased incidence of failed intubation, or decreased ability to ventilate via BVM device. Essentially, the majority of providers do not use this technique enough to be proficient at it, so they (AHA) de emphasized it. It was counterproductive.