Who can be held liable?

mfd229

Forum Probie
I am a paramedic within our volunteer ALS ambulance and fire agency. We have fire chiefs that are EMTs that have a take home squad and nearly always beat the ambulance to the scene. A particular chief, who is an EMT, on multiple occasions has told me either "stage in the truck," "you can clear," etc... without allowing me to assess the patient. Literally has forced me off multiple scenes without even seeing the patient. In a scenario like this, if the patient had a real medical situation, later died or got seriously sick, my chief had cleared me earlier, who would ultimately be held liable? If I respond as a higher level of training, am I required to assess all patients or can an EMT clear a higher trained person from the scene?

WyMedic

Forum Crew Member
I would imagine he would be responsible for disregarding you.

Sent from my XT1565 using Tapatalk

Chimpie

Site Administrator
Community Leader
What state are you from?
What do your protocols say?
What does your SOP say?

If I respond as a higher level of training, am I required to assess all patients or can an EMT clear a higher trained person from the scene?

Broadly speaking, no. If said EMT arrives on scene of a call for a large laceration, and finds someone with a bleeding hangnail, does that need to be assessed by a paramedic? Now, if you've arrived at the pt. and made pt. contact, then yes, you've assumed responsibility for them. But again, what do your protocols and SOP state?

planetmike

Forum Lieutenant