Situation tonight, was I wrong?

matty4522

Forum Ride Along
Hey Everyone,
I've been lurking for a while but registered tonight to tell this story. I'm an EMT-B out of MA. Still working on getting onto an EMS Service. I'm 19, been licensed for about 2 months. I was driving with friends (non EMS ones sadly) and came around a corner of a dark tricky road. I saw a State Trooper with his lights on, and a car smashed up against a tree. I stopped and yelled and asked if he needed help. Trooper screams "YES" I get out, said "Sir I'm an EMT whats up?" Choice of words could have been better but whatever. He says "He's got no pulse I can't find a pulse" One male driver in the seat, Head leaning on left shoulder, multiple face and scalp lacs, eyes and mouth open, blood and teeth in mouth. I tried for carotid pulse, tried for radial. Nothing. I yelled to the trooper who was at his car 10 feet away on the radio. I said "Sir do you have a breathing barrier we need to start CPR on him" He ignores me. I said "SIR I need your first aid kit" (Which he had out on his hood) He says "Ok ok" and walks to his trunk.

I have nothing against the State Police, this trooper was panicked. I was surprised at how calm I was. Trooper continued to ignore me. I walk to the road and look, no pocket mask in the bag. I yell "TROOPER I NEED A BREATHING BARRIER" to get his attention. He finally gets one out of his car for me. I walk back over and tried to get the pt out. His legs were slightly trapped, I am not a big guy at all, so I needed help. I opened the back door and got in. I tried to lift him and slide, nothing. I said to my friend "We need to get him out just help" He says "His neck is broken don't bother"