Sal, Joey or Mikaela

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show
So they refused to clock in, and forced their day shift to stay on OT while short staffed... while they sat their in their scrubs.... during a pandemic. They should have been terminated with cause, with complaints filed with the nursing board to suspend their license for failure to do their jobs.

I've worked in bad systems, during MCIs, and ran my butt off during my shift; I feel bad for the patients in this ER. to be perfectly honest, if I was a hiring manager, and a nurse applied to work for me, and in their last job, they just walked out, making the situation worse because they forced dayshift to continue working because of their entitled attitudes, then I would tear up their application in the middle of my interview with them. They are all an embarrassment to the nursing profession.

johnrsemt

Forum Deputy Chief
What DrParasite said
I would have fired them before 9pm Dayshift staying to help, but they refused to go out and work. They were complaining they needed more staff, but they had day shift staying over to work with them

RocketMedic

Californian, Lost in Texas
Contrary view: those nurses are still accountable, and responsible, for their patients. Their organization failed them on multiple levels and violated ethical, clinical and professional standards in the process. These nurses simply refused to tolerate the status quo any further.
It’s functionally no different than a shift of paramedics refusing to go to work in an unsafe system.

Tigger

Dodges Pucks
Community Leader
Contrary view: those nurses are still accountable, and responsible, for their patients. Their organization failed them on multiple levels and violated ethical, clinical and professional standards in the process. These nurses simply refused to tolerate the status quo any further.
It’s functionally no different than a shift of paramedics refusing to go to work in an unsafe system.