RN first then medic, or medic then RN???

Jn1232th

Forum Captain
I'm 20 going on 21. I want to be a medic and also want my RN. I currently work as a emt b in a 911/off company in so cal. I know medic is super competitive where I am at also. If I do RN first I can start pre courses in January. So, from a paramedics point if view, should I get my RN first then my medic? Or get my medic first then RN?

OP
OP
J

Jn1232th

Forum Captain
I'm 20 going on 21. I want to be a medic and also want my RN. I currently work as a emt b in a 911/off company in so cal. I know medic is super competitive where I am at also. If I do RN first I can start pre courses in January. So, from a paramedics point if view, should I get my RN first then my medic? Or get my medic first then RN?

911/ift

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
Odds are, whichever one you choose, you will not do the other until 5-10 years later...lot changes in that window.

Akulahawk

EMT-P/ED RN
Community Leader
RN is, by far, a better long-term career. I would suggest getting your RN stuff going NOW and only look at stepping up to Paramedic AFTER your prerequisites are done for RN. The simple reason for this is that P school takes about a year, and doing RN and P school at the same time will be impossible. Getting your RN prerequisites done before doing anything else will make P school easier to do and doing P school and the RN prerequisites will also likely prove to be impossible, from a scheduling standpoint.

Once you're done with the prerequisites, you then will have to look at your finances and your timeline for entry to RN school. If you're accepted to RN school right away, do that first. If it looks like you'll have to wait at least a year before entry to RN school, do P during the wait period. Occasionally you may earn some additional "merit" points for the Paramedic License.