research

NYSEMT-B#357862

Forum Ride Along
i am an EMT-B and i am also a high school student doing a twenty page research paper on the three questions below...the only issue is there is very limited info i can find on those questions. if u answer them and leave your name and certification i will cite u as a interview...those questions can be answered along with any other important info i should consider for my paper, please help, all the help i can receive is much appreciated.

1. Would in school, such as high school and college, students volunteering and becoming EMTs be a major asset, and please feel free to elaborate with any explanations.

2. Can community education, such as when to call, what to call for, and how to handle situations until we arrive, help the EMTs out? feel free to elaborate or extend.

3. As an EMT/Medic, do you think it will be necessary to start turning a lot of volunteer agencies into paid services for daytime manpower, due to the lack there of during the hours of 5 am-5 pm (roundabout figures), and money wise, do you think the communities will back this in the beginning, such as prior to the calls, and when they hear the amount of money that they may have to pay?

MedicDoug

Forum Crew Member
1. Would in school, such as high school and college, students volunteering and becoming EMTs be a major asset, and please feel free to elaborate with any explanations.

Student run ambulance services exist at a lot of colleges and universities and are a tremendous asset to the community. Some only serve their institution, some also serve the surrounding city/town if needed. Syracuse University Ambulance (www.sua.syr.edu) is one of the oldest, and where I got my start. I suspect quite a few EMS professionals got their start in college based services. Alumni of my service are MDs, EMS Administrators, Firefighters,as well as Medics and EMTs More info at National Collegiate Emergency Services Foundation (www.ncemsf.org)