Questions about moving West

Burritomedic1127

Forum Captain
I'm a paramedic in New England that works for a high call volume 911 city based private and might have an opportunity to work as a Fire Medic. Working fire based is not my first choice but we all know the story about a pension. Before the opportunity I was looking at moving and working in Colorado. Couple companies I was interested in we're Summit County Ambulance, Eagle County Paramedics, and Thompson Valley EMS. Found some facts on these companies in the threads but wondering if anyone has any more info on these companies before I potentially plant roots in New England. I've worked ski patrol (snowboard) and have worked on the wilderness side of EMS.

No disrespect to any firefighters

Thanks for any info

Cheers

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
You picked the three most difficult services to get into. I've been watching Summit County since I got my card in June of 2012 and haven't heard of an opening.

Another one you might look at is Weld County Paramedics. They're hospital based out of the Banner Hospital in Weld County. I don't know much about that specific service but I interviewed for another one of their hospital's EMS services and liked what I saw.

I'm not sure about CO but here we have a few ALS patrols. Generally are FT at either an FD or for The agency I work for then work PT at the resort. I'm not sure if you can be part time on the Ambo and full time on the slopes though.

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
Burritomedic1127

Burritomedic1127

Forum Captain
Robb thanks for the reply

Yeah Summit County def looks legit for sure. Prob have to wait till someone retires to even get a sniff. Weld county looks solid from checking out their website, might be far from the mountains though.