Private IFT BLS to 911

Emt257

Forum Ride Along
Hi guys, I saw some similar threads and don't want to hi-jack theirs with my own issues lol. I was just wondering what you all recommend on this...

I have a goal of becoming a Paramedic, I currently have enough hours for all my local schools to qualify but I have zero ALS experience and Fall 2018 is the soonest I can start at a school. I'm torn between getting some ALS experience or staying with the private BLS company while going to school since I know I can work my schedule around class.
Problem with the BLS company is I feel like I'm not learning anything new, nothing to prepare for a 911 role and I know it's a different world compared to the BLS pick up, take some vitals, drop off, repeat world. Being in California as well our scope of practice here is pretty limited so we really don't do much, can't even check blood sugar....

I was just curious if you guys recommend working with a Paramedic and get some of that experience prior to a Paramedic program.

Also the only 911 company in my area is AMR and I don't know anyone working for them as an EMT right now so if anyone works with them I wanted to ask how you like it.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Everyone is going to give you different responses. There is no one way of doing it. Some people can pass medic school fresh out of basic with no field experience while others want field experience.

The real answer is the one that works best for you. Do you need ALS experience to pass medic school? No. Will it help? Maybe.

The benefits to staying at your company right now is that your schedule is flexible and you are used to the system.