Paramedics in the tier 2 system, what do you think of EMT-B's.

RedrickJim

Forum Ride Along
I run in a tier 2 system. Recently in the last few months, I've come across paramedics who for lack of a better sentence: Would just rather not have me on board. They have this poor attitude when I whole-hardheartedly ask in the back of the ambulance "Do you need anything man, I'm here to help". and I get "Nope, sit there." in this passive aggressive tone of voice that makes me feel like my training is useless, when I know it's not.

I've run into paramedics that went right from EMT school to paramedic school, and have no field experience as an EMT, and have found themselves get flustered because they beat us to the call and have no idea what to do because we are typically already there with a report, and are getting them packaged and doing the necessaries.

I may not want to become a paramedic, but as an EMT, I think it works best when you show me things that I can do to help you (Let's not beat around the bush here, anyone involved in a tier-2 system knows that we basically help and do a number of what the paramedics do short of actually sticking the Pt and pushing the drugs.) Teach me, you can see I'm a young'n, show me things, show me what this rhythm means, or why you are doing this. (Obviously I would never ask this during a trauma code or something, I have my own priorities which I know, trauma naked, control the obvious bleeding, keep looking for hidden injuries, assess the Pt and immobilize, exc...)

Other medics, are great. There's this one crew I get that I love having on board, they know their ****, they teach me, and treat me as an equal. It's ****ing incredible and even on the harsh calls we operate like clockwork.

I'm more or less asking this: In a tier 2 system, do you, paramedics, find EMT's to be more or less a nuisance that shouldn't even be a thing in the 911 system that should be sticking with transport only?