Packaging The Trauma Patient

EMSRookie

Forum Ride Along
Reaction score
I am a new EMT student looking for some advice on packaging the major trauma patient. When you have an unstable patient with multiple fractures, and the mechanism of injury suggests severe internal trauma- Would you take time splinting a radius/ulna ? Obvious dislocated shoulder ? Tib/Fib ? Or Femur ?

Last edited by a moderator:
I am a new EMT student looking for some advice on packaging the major trauma patient. When you have an unstable patient with multiple fractures, and the mechanism of injury suggests severe internal trauma- Would you take time splinting a radius/ulna ? Obvious dislocated shoulder ? Tib/Fib ? Or Femur ?

An unstable trauma pt needs surgery. Extricate, fix any life threats you can and get on your way to the hospital or intercept.
Do not delay on scene time to splint and bandage an unstable pt.

Last edited by a moderator:
Backboard for moving them. Don't screw around. Drive to the hospital. Splint whatever you can while en route.

Agree with both. But don't do any treatment blindly. Every splint is manipulation of an injury aggravated by manipulation; then field splint is removed (manipulated) at the ED. And if some helpful bystander already splinted it, you removed that splint before you applied your own….

OP, good opportunity: what are these signs of "internal injuries" you speak of? What is the scenario? Ask yourself "How much time am I going to spend with this patient between here and the hospital?". Can a crucially useful history be extracted while you are "doing something!" ?

the mechanism of injury suggests

I suggest you delete this from your vocabulary. If you are at the point in your assessment where you are using MOI to provide some clue as to the nature of injury, then the patient is most likely not that serious. Remember where MOI falls in the trauma triage algorithm....after vital signs and after physical assessment.