Off Duty Skills

PAstudent

Forum Ride Along
Hi guys,

I'm currently an EMT-B student with my test approaching this spring. My friend was looking at the bags on galls and I thought of a question. In Pennsylvania, what can basics do off duty skill wise? Can we insert oral and nasal airways? Can we use a BVM? Can we help with nitro and epis? I think I heard someone say no glucose....

I'm just wondering what I'll be able to due when im not working.

Thanks

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
First, save your money and place that into more classes. You should had been taught, what your legal implications are.... generally, you are nothing more off duty, than a 1'st responder and can use equipment that a 1'st responder can use.

Now, carrying a bag and even stopping is a personal issue discussed here multiple times. ....

R/r 911

OP
OP
P

PAstudent

Forum Ride Along
Thanks. I wasn't planning on spending a ton of money on it.

As far as classes, I've already looked in to taking PHTLS and PEPP along with some various extrication classes, I'm pretty young and have a ton of time to learn. (Still in high school.) The main reason I took the class, in the beginning, was to put it on my application to Governors school for Health Care at Pitt, but the more I do the more interested in the field I become. I've been reading a lot on this site and find the information very useful. I even did an internship at the ER last night....(well...more of the form of me having a distal fibula fracture and going for x-rays, but that just doesn't sound quite as good.)

As far as learning the legal aspects, we did discuss the fact that we were not required to stop if we weren't advertising the fact of being in EMS. He said it was a personal decision but did not go into what skills we would be able to use if we did in fact decide to stop.

Anyway, thanks again for the information, I can't wait to get my certification and hope to make a difference like all of you.

Last edited by a moderator:

MMiz