NREMT worth the 70 bucks - or the paper it's printed on?

jrm818

Forum Captain
Hey all - looking for some input on this. I'm an EMT-B student, and the class is about to end. I was wondering if anyone had a sense as to whether or not being a national registry EMT could possibly affect one's ability to be hired either by a transport company or possibly by a hospital as a patient care tech. Neither of these is in my immediate plans – but ether is a theoretical possibility in the not so distant future.

This is not a licensing issue - as I will (assuming I pass the tests) be licensed in both of the states in which I would possibly work for the next few years – at home and at school. I'm asking purely about taking this test as a resume-builder here. Worth the $70 or no? (I'm leaning towards "no - pay for your heat instead" but wanted to double check).

Thanks in advance.

Jon

Administrator
Community Leader
If you have the extra money... it probably isn't a bad idea... it gives you more flexability. If you really don't have the money... don't worry about it.

Glorified

Forum Lieutenant
Isn't NR computerized everywhere this year? Or is it only in a few states? If its computereized you get your response within a day or two I think.

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
I think that the NR certification is extraordinarily valuable. More and more companies are leaning towards the NR standards, even if your state or locality's standards are just as high. Also, it will allow you to gain employment out of state if you ever decide to move.

I never thought I'd be moving, so I let my NR lapse. It would have to be one of the most stupid things I've done. I'm sure I can get it back, but I've forgotten a majority of the material I learned back in EMT school. I'd advise you to get it now, even if you don't think you'll immediately need it.

Alexakat

Forum Lieutenant
I agree with Miz...get it if you can!

Ridryder911

EMS Guru