Nonrebreather with an Oral Airway?

M1ke10191

Forum Probie
So all along my 2 month EMT class, during our trauma assessment we all verbalized placing a NRB after the OA was inserted to take care of the A and B of the ABCs. Yesterday one of the staff members told us if you're going to put in an OA you automatically would ventilate. I mean the patient is unconscious yet he is still breathing adequately in the scenario. He doesn't show any signs of inadequacy. Would a nasal airway + NRB be better both in real life and the practical (Which is in 8 hours btw lol), were we right with the OA + NRB, or was the instructor right saying NRB + ventilate?

We don't go too in depth in our class, honestly I think they're teaching JUST enough to pass the exam, but that's another thread entirely. Also, I've been riding with my rescue squad for 6 months now and I've seen OA's used but back then I didn't know what was going on.

Last edited by a moderator:

VentMedic

Forum Chief
So all along my 2 month EMT class, during our trauma assessment we all verbalized placing a NRB after the OA was inserted to take care of the A and B of the ABCs. Yesterday one of the staff members told us if you're going to put in an OA you automatically would ventilate. I mean the patient is unconscious yet he is still breathing adequately in the scenario. He doesn't show any signs of inadequacy. Would a nasal airway + NRB be better both in real life and the practical (Which is in 8 hours btw lol), were we right with the OA + NRB, or was the instructor right saying NRB + ventilate?

We don't go too in depth in our class, honestly I think they're teaching JUST enough to pass the exam, but that's another thread entirely. Also, I've been riding with my rescue squad for 6 months now and I've seen OA's used but back then I didn't know what was going on.

I believe they are now advocating this in CCR but it has its limitations.