Need help with Pt Assessment follow up questions

Sean Mathews

Forum Ride Along
Hello all,

Pretty new to posting on the forums but have read quite a bit on here. I work as a Firefighter/EMT in California and on calls my crew is having me practice my assessments, which i am loving because i need the practice. One thing i ALWAYS find myself messing up on are the follow up questions to the pt. Now my partners are Firefighter Paramedics so i know their knowledge depth is much greater. But for calls like syncope, chest pain, difficulty breathing, abdominal pain, etc. (basically any call). While talking to the PT i can never think of the right follow up questions to their symptoms.

Does anyone on here have a good resource or recommendation to learn about the follow up questions for certain chief complaints?

Any help is appreciated,

Thank you,
Sean

Jim37F

Forum Deputy Chief
Quite frankly what was the single best resource for me was paying attention to the follow up questions the nurses at the hospital asked me (or when I couldn't answer, what they, or the odd doctor floating around doing triage at one of my hospitals asked the patient directly) when I arrived and gave them my report. You'll hear the same questions for the same complaints. Enough times of getting a question that I would have to immediately turn around and ask the patient, get the patients answer, turn around and tell the nurse, and you'll learn to start anticipating thise questions (as well as what info they don't care about, like in my area no one seemed to care that much about last oral intake unless it was directly pertinent lol)

StCEMT

Forum Deputy Chief
I quit following templates a long time ago and just ask specific questions geared towards the complaint. One thing that will help early on is to see what questions are asked by RN/MD when at the hospital. That gives you an idea of what they will look for in the turnover report.