Legal Problem??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lawrence Madore

Forum Ride Along
A little background before I ask the question. First of all, I have been an EMT for 25 plus years. Most of the time was as a volunteer. Started working for a County Ambulance Service in 2009. Completed a Paramedic course this month. NREMT Certification 4 days ago. State License today. I've been in constant communication with the director of the service and he has been extremely excited about me coming on as a Paramedic. Considerable shortage of medics in our area. At any rate, I was guaranteed a position in writing with a quote on the pay increase. I was told that as soon as I got my license I would be placed on a brief orientation.

Tonight I get an email that states that I can't practice as a medic until the start of the next pay period. The next pay period is 10 days out. HR refuses to backdate the certification to today because it is in the middle of a pay period.

This is where it get sticky. I'll be working on a two-man truck at night. A considerable number of calls have had multiple patients and at times we are sitting at Status 1 or worse. What do I do if I'm presented with the situation where I am the only provider available and the patient needs ALS interventions. I have a Duty to Act but I have been told "no" by my employer. If I breach that duty, I risk causing harm, losing my license and getting sued. They will not pay me to work as a medic and I am not to perform ALS skills. Where do I stand. I really don't want to have to explain this in court. I can't afford to lose my job because of some archaic HR / Payroll policy.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
If you are employed as an EMT then you act as an EMT. Once your employment changes to a medic then you are a medic.