Knot in stomach

iwannahelppeople

Forum Probie
Hey all!!

I am a fairly new EMT and on son calls I have never done before I get knits in my stomach responding there..... Normal? Dies it show I dont know what I am doing? I am confident in my skills. Input and advice much appreciated!

Chris

Wheel

Forum Asst. Chief
I still get them, especially on certain calls. It gets better.

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
Kids, especially pedi arrests, knot my guts up. I'd say it gets easier, but a few knots keep you from getting cocky and complacent.

OP
OP
I

iwannahelppeople

Forum Probie
So the knots are a good thing? Because whenever I get then I think of everything I need to do in my head before we get sons scene

medichopeful

Flight RN/Paramedic
Just didn't trust me now huh? :p;)

I think it shows a few things, but neither of them is that you don't know what you're doing. It shows that you're worried about how you will act and the care that you'll provide, which is a good thing! It also shows that you just don't have a lot of experience with emergency calls yet, which isn't a bad thing.

All of us get the feeling every now and then (myself included). There are some calls like others have said that really get us nervous (for example, I don't like the "man down" calls). Since you're still new to doing emergency calls, don't beat yourself up over it.