Injured on the job, now what?

Ginger1

Forum Ride Along
Hi, I'm a new EMT seeking advice on industry norms for handling injuries. After several months of solid work, I had a series of bad lifts with a weaker/new partner and pulled my back. It didn't get better and continued to get worse over the next week and a half, so I finally reported it and was sent home from work by my manager. The next day, I also was discouraged from seeing a doctor, told to use my sick time to cover missed hours, and told I'm to take time off without pay until I felt well enough to work. This sounds strange to me - is this normal with private EMS? I love my work, want to get back to it as soon as safely possible, and I'm concerned I'm not getting the best advice. Thanks in advance for any pointers, experiences you can share.

PotatoMedic

Has no idea what I'm doing.
Well you should have filled out l&I paperwork. I would go into work tomorrow to fill out l&I paperwork and if they say you don't need to. Call your state l&I board in their office to confirm you don't need to.

NPO

Forum Deputy Chief
If you have a job related injury you should report it immediately, even if at first it doesn't seem like you need light-duty. That way it's on the record in case it gets worse.

I'm not a labor law expert, but that doesn't seem right.

My first day in field training at my current job I hurt my back. I reported it, had 4 days off and told them I'd nurse it at home. The next day back I felt great, until my last call. I tweaked it again and couldn't walk. I reported it again and was sent to our occupational health clinic where they ordered 2 weeks light duty.

A coworker of mine had a similar story, but he got 6 months light duty and had to have surgery.

mgr22

Forum Deputy Chief