how do you know if you can handle it?

NJnewbie

Forum Crew Member
I'm thinking of becoming an EMT-B. I am 43 years old so I'm no kid, but one thing that's always been a concern of mine is I wonder how I'll handle an emergency situation. I'm afraid I might freak out and not be able to be effective. I'm wondering if any of you had these thoughts before you got into EMS and how you got past it.

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
You won't until you actually do it.

Back in my Paramedic internship, I feared that I'd freeze. EVERYONE fears that. But when on the call, the training and education kicks in. When I ran a refractive asthmatic who was crashing right in front of me I didn't give anything I did a second thought, just ran the call as if I was on auto pilot as I knew what I was doing.

A few months later, I'm a certified Paramedic. I ran an MI just the other day, scared crapless like all new medics, but did my job and followed my training and education, making all patient care decisions on my own.

If I can do it at 21, you should be able to do it at 43 with all the life experiences you have.

iamajammer

Forum Probie
I used to be scared to death before I went through school, but they teach you what you need to know, and your field experience will be where you start to feel real confident. Just make sure to find a good program. You'll do fine, just make sure your heart is there.

medichopeful

Flight RN/Paramedic
I'm thinking of becoming an EMT-B. I am 43 years old so I'm no kid, but one thing that's always been a concern of mine is I wonder how I'll handle an emergency situation. I'm afraid I might freak out and not be able to be effective. I'm wondering if any of you had these thoughts before you got into EMS and how you got past it.

Like others have said, the only way you can know for sure is to try it. You may want to do some ride-alongs to see how you do. While you're on those, try to think about what you (without training, so do the best you can) would do next.